1. Home
  2. Team History


2013 • 2014 • 2015 • 2016

The Allen AMERICANS Professional Hockey Club will enter its 14th (Season XIV) year of play with the start of the 2022-23 season.

Championship Hockey is the backbone of the American’s franchise since being founded in 2009, with the team having captured four consecutive league championships from 2013 through 2016.

Owned by nationally respected “Serial Entrepreneur” Jack D. Gulati, the Club plays its home games at the Credit Union of Texas Event Center, which is located in The Village at Allen, conveniently located off of Interstate 75.




The Organization’s first championship came in 2013 when the AMERICANS captured the first of two Central Hockey League (CHL) Presidents’ Cups.

The 2013 Championship came in a  dramatic double-overtime Game 7 against the Wichita Thunder. With Wichita up 2-0 in the third period, the AMERICANS scored two goals in the final half of the frame. Jarret Lukin opened the scoring, at the halfway point of the period, to cut the lead to 2-1. The game would remain that way until two and a half minutes left in regulation, when defenseman Trevor Hendrikx blasted a slap shot from the outside that found the back of the net to tie the game at 2-2. The AMERICANS didn’t wait long in the extra session to end the game, as Todd Robinson fired a shot from along the right-wing boards just over two minutes into overtime that beat Wichita goalie Torrie Jung. That historic shot gave Allen its first title with a 3-2 win. American-born forward Brian McMillin was named the CHL Playoffs MVP.



The AMERICANS would be the last team standing again in 2014, the final season for the now defunct Central Hockey League (CHL). Allen faced the Denver Cutthroats in the Presidents’ Cup Championship Series. After losing game one to Denver on the road, the AMERICANS responded by winning four straight games, two of which came in overtime, to claim their second straight Presidents’ Cup Championship. Game 2 hero Jamie Schaafsma scored two goals, including the game winner in OT, and was named the playoffs MVP.




The 2014-2015 season saw the AMERICANS and six other teams from the Central Hockey League join the ECHL. Allen had another great roster assembled that included the league’s scoring champ, Chad Costello. The excitement started in the Western Conference Finals in 2015, where the team trailed the Ontario Reign 2-1 in the series, and were down 2-1 in game 5 before mounting their amazing comeback. Allen outscored Ontario 5-0 in the third period, with two of the five goals coming off the stick of Spencer Asuchak, for a 6-2 Allen victory. The AMERICANS took Games 6 & 7 back in Allen to advance to their third straight finals appearance.

The AMERICANS and South Carolina Stingrays met for the first time ever and split the first two games of the ECHL’s Kelly Cup Finals in Allen. After losing Game 1, Gary Steffes would step up as the hero in Game 2 with two goals. Allen fell in Game 3 on home ice and headed to South Carolina for the next three. Allen won back to back games at the North Charleston Coliseum, with Vincent Arseneau scoring the double overtime winner in Game 4 to even the series, followed by Greger Hanson’s overtime winner in Game 5 to give Allen the 3-2 series lead. South Carolina would take Game 6 at home before the series shifted back to Allen for Game 7. The Americans jumped on the Stingrays early and often in that final game, cruising to a 6-1 victory and claiming their first Kelly Cup Championship and third league title in a row. Greger Hanson was named playoffs MVP, finishing third overall in the postseason scoring race with 29 points.




The AMERICANS made it four straight trips to a League Championship Series at the end of the 2015-16 season as it was Allen’s first ever playoff matchup against the Wheeling Nailers. Much like the year before, the AMERICANS would split the first two games on home ice, winning Game 1 and dropping Game 2. The series was physical as it shifted to West Virginia for three straight games in the thin mountain air of the Appalachians.

The Nailers would grab their only lead in the series with a 3-2 win in Game 3. From that point on, the AMERICANS took control of the series as Allen won three straight games, two in Wheeling, and the final victory coming at Allen Event Center in Game 6. The AMERICANS beat the Nailers 4-2 in the series clincher to claim their second straight Kelly Cup, and fourth championship in a row. Chad Costello won his first ever Playoffs MVP, leading the league in postseason scoring with 36 points.

Americans at a glance:

Team Owner: Myles Jack & LaSonjia Jack 2023-present
President: Jonny Mydra, 2022-present
Head Coach | General Manager: Chad Costello, 2022-present

Team Captains:

2022-23 I Colton Hargrove

2021-22 | Spencer Asuchak & Chad Costello

2020-21 | Spencer Asuchak & Dyson Stevenson

2019-20 | Jared VanWormer

2017-19 | Joel Chouinard,

2015-17 | Chad Costello & Gary Steffes

2014-15 | Jamie Schaafsma

2013-14 | Mike Berube

2011-13 | Jason Deitsch

2010-11 | Tobias Whelan

2009-10 | Jarret Lukin

The AMERICANS primary colors are red (hex #AB162B), white and blue (hex #0C223F) and have worn those colors since the team’s inception.

The team’s website is AllenAMERICANS.com and the team’s offices are located inside Credit Union of Texas Event Center at 200 E. Stacy Road, Allen, Texas 75002. You may reach the front office by calling (972) 912-1000.

Formerly named Allen Event Center, Credit Union of Texas Event Center is one of the most diverse arenas in the DFW Metroplex. The center hosts more than 100 events annually with an annual $12.5 million economic impact. Events at the 7,000+ seat facility include concerts, sporting events, graduations, trade shows, family ice shows, and more. The arena is also home to the Allen Americans Hockey Club (ECHL) and the Dallas Sidekicks Soccer Club (MASL). Credit Union of Texas Event Center is the property of and managed by the City of Allen.

Free parking is available at every event.