Allen, Texas – The Allen Americans, ECHL affiliate of the Minnesota Wild, are proud to announce that defenseman Alex Breton has been named the ECHL Defenseman of the Year.

Alex Breton led all defensemen in scoring this season with 55 points, finishing 19th overall in the league (11 goals and 44 assists). He finished tied for the ECHL lead in assists, along with his teammate Tyler Sheehy. Both players had 44 helpers.

“This award means so much to me,” stated Alex Breton, in a video interview with Americans Broadcaster, Tommy Daniels today. “I owe a lot to my teammates, especially my defensive partner Kayle Doetzel, who was such a big part of my success this year. Also, Americans Head Coach Steve Martinson, who has always believed in me and gave me the opportunity to achieve success.”

In addition to his award as Defenseman of the Year, Alex Breton was part of the All-ECHL First Team, along with his teammate and ECHL Rookie of the Year, Tyler Sheehy.

ECHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners

2019-20    Alex Breton, Allen Americans
2018-19    Eric Knodel, Cincinnati Cyclones
2017-18    Matt Register, Colorado Eagles
2016-17    Matt Register, Colorado Eagles
2015-16    Mathew Maione, Wheeling Nailers
2014-15    Mike Little, Florida Everblades
2013-14    Matt Register, Ontario Reign
2012-13    Sacha Guimond, Gwinnett Gladiators
2011-12    Aaron Schneekloth, Colorado Eagles
2010-11    Eric Regan, Elmira Jackals
2009-10    J.C. Sawyer, Toledo Walleye
2008-09    Dylan Yeo, Victoria Salmon Kings
2007-08     Peter Metcalf, Alaska Aces
2006-07     Jon Awe, Gwinnett Gladiators
2005-06     Ryan Gaucher, Alaska Aces
2004-05     Ray DiLauro, Wheeling Nailers
2003-04     Corey Neilson, Pensacola Ice Pilots
2002-03     Jim Baxter, Mississippi Sea Wolves
2001-02     Duncan Dalmao, Roanoke Express
2000-01     Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1999-00     Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1998-99     Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1997-98     Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1996-97     Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96     Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1994-95     Brandon Smith, Dayton Bombers
1993-94     Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1992-93     Derek Booth, Toledo Storm
1991-92     Scott White, Greensboro Monarchs
1990-91     Brett MacDonald, Nashville Knights
1989-90     Bill Whitfield, Virginia Lancers
1988-89     Kelly Szauter, Erie Panthers

Renew Season Tickets NOW – Contact the Allen Americans today to renew your ticket plan for the 2020-2021 Allen Americans Season. Email the team at

Group Night – Bring a group to an Allen Americans game next season and receive a special group price. Email the team at

Sponsorship Opportunities – Let us help promote your business to our growing fan base. Contact Robert Ciccotelli at

Community Appearances – Interested in having the Allen Americans at your next meeting or gathering? Email the team at

About the Allen Americans

The Allen Americans are the ECHL affiliate of the National Hockey League‘s Minnesota Wild and the American Hockey League‘s Iowa Wild. Championship hockey is the backbone of the Americans franchise since being founded prior to the 2009-10 season, with the Red, White and Blue having captured two ECHL Kelly Cup Championships (2014-15 & 2015-16) and two Central Hockey League Ray Miron Cups (2012-13 & 2013-14). Americans’ home games are played at the Allen Event Center, which is located in The Village at Allen. The Allen Americans begin their 12th season of professional hockey this October, with the full 2020-21 ECHL schedule to be announced in the coming months.  Fans can reserve season tickets now for a deposit of $50 at or by calling 972-912-1000.