The ECHL announced that, in recognition of their efforts during the pandemic, head equipment
managers from all 14 participating Teams during the 2020-21 Season have been selected as the
winners of the ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year award presented by Warrior Hockey.
The ECHL is pleased to recognize the equipment staffs from all 14 Member Teams. Each of the
equipment managers helped to ensure teams are following the ECHL Return to Play protocol
during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“On behalf of the ECHL, we would like to thank and recognize each of the Member Teams’
equipment managers for the hard work and dedication it took to make this season happen,” said
ECHL Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst. “Each one of these individuals
was tasked with a lot of extra work with all of our protocols on top of what normally is already a
tough job. We also would like to thank our exclusive equipment provider Warrior Hockey for
helping honor all the ECHL Equipment Managers.”

Team Equipment Manager
Allen Americans Tim Abbott
Florida Everblades John Sellars
Fort Wayne Komets Skylar Garver
Greenville Swamp Rabbits Shawn Thorns
Indy Fuel Darrin Flinchem
Jacksonville Icemen Jeremy Holloway
Kansas City Mavericks Lukas Nestor
Orlando Solar Bears Adam Dexter
Rapid City Rush Gavin Bechtol
South Carolina Stingrays Nick Lazor
Tulsa Oilers Tony Deynzer

Utah Grizzlies Matthew Schwegmann
Wheeling Nailers Bill Higgins
Wichita Thunder Frank Jury

ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year
2020-21 ECHL Equipment Managers
2019-20 Chris Burke, Cincinnati Cyclones
2018-19 Jason MacDonald, Reading Royals
2017-18 Darren Flinchem, Indy Fuel
2016-17 Andrew Dvorak, Missouri Mavericks
2015-16 Drew Kitts, Quad City Mallards
2014-15 Dakota King, Gwinnett Gladiators
2013-14 Billy Higgins, Wheeling Nailers
2012-13 Adam Dexter, Orlando Solar Bears
2011-12 Ryan Martin, Greenville Road Warriors
2010-11 Mike Burkhead, Alaska Aces
2009-10 Ben Laing, Stockton Thunder
2008-09 Pat Noecker, Reading Royals
2007-08 Pat Noecker, Reading Royals
2005-06 Chris Burke, Fresno Falcons
2004-05 John Jennings, Florida Everblades and Russ Holden, Reading Royals
2003-04 John Krouse, Pensacola Ice Pilots
2002-03 Tom Severance, Charlotte Checkers

About the ECHL
Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast
league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 33rd season in 2020-21.
There have been 698 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after
starting their careers in the ECHL, including 20 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2020-21
season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2020-21, marking the 24th
consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further
information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and

About Warrior Hockey
Headquartered in Warren, Michigan, Warrior Sports is recognized as one of the sporting goods
industry’s premier manufacturer of innovative, high performance, cutting-edge equipment,
footwear and apparel for lacrosse and hockey athletes of all ages and abilities. Founded in 1992
by former champion lacrosse player David Morrow, Warrior was acquired by privately-held
New Balance Athletic Shoe, Inc. in February 2004.