Photo – Lauren Lyssy

Allen, Texas – The Allen Americans, ECHL affiliate of the San Jose Sharks announced today that forward Chad Costello has won the ECHL Scoring Title for a second straight season.

Costello led the league with 103 points, 24 goals and 79 assists. It’s the second straight season he finished with over 100 points, finishing last year with 125 total points.

“I play on a great team, with some really skilled players,” said Americans forward Chad Costello. “It’s nice to win the scoring title, but to be honest, the only award we want  here in Allen this season is another summer with the Kelly Cup.”

The native of Johnston, Iowa finished the season with a 19 game point-scoring streak as well as 19 game assist-scoring streak. His assists-scoring streak is the longest in team history, and second longest in the ECHL history. David Desharnais had a 20 game assists-scoring streak in 2007-08 season.

The Americans open the playoffs on Thursday night at home against the Idaho Steelheads at 7:05 PM. Tickets are available at Allen Event Center Box Office or online at

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners

2015-16           Chad Costello, Allen Americans                  103 points

2014-15           Chad Costello, Allen Americans                    125 points

2013-14           Brandon Marino, Fort Wayne Komets           88 points

2012-13           Mathieu Roy, Florida Everblades                   89 points

2011-12           Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals                        85 points

2010-11           Justin Donati, Elmira Jackals                          94 points

2009-10           Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals                           114 points
2008-09           Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades                    102 points

2007-08           David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones         106 points

2006-07           Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators                  110 points

2005-06           Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces                              91 points

2004-05           Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces                             86 points

2003-04           Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno                         95 points

2002-03           Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades             104 points

2001-02           Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots               102 points

2000-01           Scott King, Charlotte Checkers                      101 points

1999-00           John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators               119 points

1998-99           John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators               109 points

1997-98           Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls                     119 points

1996-97           Ed Courtenay, South Carolina Stingrays        110 points

1995-96           Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights                 144 points

1994-95           Scott Burfoot, Erie Panthers                           97 points

1993-94           Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs                 139 points

1992-93           Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights                       161 points

1991-92           Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs                 130 points

1990-91           Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees                  140 points

1989-90           Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers                        148 points

1988-89           Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers                             122 points


ECHL Kelly Cup Playoffs – Best of Seven Game Series (round one)

Game 1: Thursday, April 14th Idaho at Allen 7:05 PM CST

Game 2: Saturday, April 16th Idaho at Allen 7:05 PM CST

Game 3: Wednesday, April 20th Allen at Idaho 8:10 PM CST

Game 4: Friday, April 22nd Allen at Idaho 8:10 PM CST

Game 5: Saturday, April 23rd Allen at Idaho 8:10 PM CST if necessary

Game 6: Tuesday April 26th Idaho at Allen 7:05 PM CST if necessary

Game 7: Wednesday April 27th Idaho at Allen 7:05 PM CST if necessary