*********** *********** nowtoday var = 2018-06-19 19:01 game_date_time value is: 2018-10-20 19:05

Allen Americans vs Wichita Thunder


Oct 20 @ 7:05 PM





Allen, Texas – The Allen Americans, ECHL affiliate of the San Jose Sharks, announced today the clubs protected list of 17 players for the 2017-2018 season. Below is the list by position.

FORWARDS: Gary Steffes, Chad Costello, Wade MacLeod, Josh Brittain, Tanner Eberle, Ian Schultz, Zach Hall, Greger Hanson, Spencer Asuchak, Dyson Stevenson and Bryan Moore.

DEFENSEMAN: David Makowski, Mike Gunn, Harrison Ruopp, Miles Liberati and Joel Chouinard.

GOALIE: Riley Gill

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2016-17 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2016-17, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2016-17 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17.

The Americans will host a Select-A-Seat Event this Saturday from 11 AM to 3:00 PM at Allen Event Center, where fans will be able to “test drive” available seats for the 2017-2018 season. Call 972-912-1000 for more information.

The Americans open the regular season on Friday, October 13th in Rapid City, with the home opener on Saturday, October 21st against Orlando. Click here for the complete 2017-2018 schedule.

About the Americans

The Allen Americans play in the ECHL, the premiere AA hockey league in North America. The Americans were established in 2009 and have won four AA championships in eight full seasons of minor pro hockey. In those eight seasons, Allen has qualified for the playoffs every year with five trips to the league finals. Allen will enter its fourth season in the ECHL this October, after playing five years in the now defunct Central Hockey League.


By | 2017-06-01T17:02:32-05:00 June 1st, 2017|

 Sign Up For the
Americans Insider

Get the latest news, highlights, and ticket deals when you sign up for the Americans Insider.